Investing in the future of fashion

IMG_3061

Some girls can’t wait get to that age where they are big enough to fit into their mother’s clothing. For me, an exciting point in my life came when I could finally steal pieces from my dad’s wardrobe.

My dad is the original fashionista. I like to think that style is embedded into our DNA and that he passed down this life-long passion of his to me.

Unlike me however, he isn’t really into vintage shopping. He prefers to scope out the best deals on designer brands in the discount racks of his favourite local boutiques. He is also a big online shoe fanatic, and on more than one occasion I have seen him giddily answer our front door in anticipation of a package from Fed Ex containing a new pair of Oxfords.

But just because my dad is a bit prissy when it comes to wearing clothes that have been worn by other people, doesn’t mean that his clothes can’t be passed down to his budget-conscious children.

IMG_3039

IMG_3030IMG_3027

My dad has some pretty sweet winter vests that I like to steal. I wear them over sweaters (also belonging to my dad) with a pair of heeled boots and a slouchy toque.

IMG_3054

I like this look because I can pretty much go anywhere in it: to school, out for drinks with friends, or an afternoon of shopping. On really cold Winnipeg days, I like these oversized vests because they keep me extra warm.

Here’s where my dad says he gets his vests from:

– H&M: (We don’t have one in Winnipeg yet but they have really great shipping policies to Canada, check out both the men and women’s section of the website). http://www.hm.com/ca/

– The North Face: My dad says the he gets a lot of his North Face gear from Prairie Summit at 1887 Grant Ave. http://www.prairiesummitshop.com/main.php

– Mountain Equipment Co-op: This store is great for offering a bunch of different styles. Check out their Winnipeg location at 303 Portage Ave. http://www.mec.ca/Main/home.jsp

2 comments

  1. I have an affinity for oversized Men’s clothes as well. I just love the 90s nostalgic grungy meticulously messy look. I got that from my momma. She stole my dad’s old shirts and then I stole them from her.

Leave a comment